(00351) 913 988 888
ARE E Portugal Regions E Lisbon Metropolitan Area

Lisbon Metropolitan Area

AML – Lisbon Metropolitan Area • Portugal

The Lisbon Metropolitan Area (AML) is a large region centered around Lisbon, which is Portugal’s capital and its biggest city. It’s quite significant in size – it’s actually the largest urban area in Portugal and ranks as the 10th largest in the European Union. The AML includes a total of 18 municipalities, which means it covers a lot of different local areas or towns, totaling 2.8 million people living here. The entire area is around 3,015 square kilometers. To give you a better idea, that’s about 65 kilometers from one end to the other at its longest stretch.

AML region is made up of two main parts:

  1. the Greater Lisbon Area on the north side of the Tagus River, and
  2. the Setúbal Peninsula on the south side of the river.

Greater Lisbon Area

The Greater Lisbon Area, which is a part of the Lisbon Metropolitan Area, specifically consists of nine municipalities. All of these are located on the north side of the Tagus River. When we look at these municipalities in terms of population, starting from the most populated, in descending order of population, are:

  1. Lisbon: The capital city itself has around 550,000 residents. It´s the most vivid city in Portugal.
  2. Sintra: Known for its historical sites and scenic landscapes.
  3. Cascais: A coastal town famous for its beaches and tourist appeal.
  4. Loures: Noted for its industrial and commercial zones.
  5. Amadora: A densely populated municipality with urban characteristics.
  6. Oeiras: It’s known for its business parks and high standard of living.
  7. Odivelas: A residential area with a growing population.
  8. Vila Franca de Xira: A municipality with a mix of urban and rural areas.
  9. Mafra: Famous for its historical palace and rural charm.

Setúbal Peninsula

The Setúbal Peninsula forms the second part of the Lisbon Metropolitan Area, with 9 more municipalities located on the south side of the Tagus River. Here you’ll find the municipalities in the Setúbal Peninsula, listed from the most populated:

  1. Almada: It’s particularly known for the Cristo Rei statue, similar to the Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, and offers spectacular views of Lisbon.
  2. Seixal: This municipality has a mix of industrial and residential areas, with a significant waterfront along the Tagus River.
  3. Setúbal: A major city in this region, Setúbal is known for its fishing industry, natural parks, and beautiful beaches.
  4. Barreiro: Historically an industrial hub, it’s now evolving with more residential and commercial developments.
  5. Moita: Known for its traditional bullfighting festivals and riverfront activities.
  6. Palmela: Famous for its castle, wineries, and picturesque landscapes.
  7. Montijo: This area has a mix of urban and rural settings, with a growing residential community.
  8. Sesimbra: A popular tourist destination, known for its beaches, seafood restaurants, and the medieval castle.
  9. Alcochete: Renowned for its traditional salt pans, Freeport outlet mall, and natural reserves.
ARE E Portugal Regions E Lisbon Metropolitan Area